Informal summary: Prairie to Pine Regional Council Business Meeting October 7, 2020

Summary prepared by Bev Diebert, Living Skies Regional Council admin staff and annual meeting support team member.

The business meeting of the Prairie to Pine Regional Council was called to order by Lori Stewart, co-chair of the Regional Meeting, at 7:04pm. Co-chair Kwang Beom Cho then read the Acknowledgement of the land. Lori then reviewed the processes needed to conduct the meeting; for speaking and voting on both the computer and phone. The gathered were told secret ballots votes were not available. Attendees then got a chance to practice the voting procedure by voting on: Should Brussel sprouts be served at Thanksgiving? This motion was CARRIED.

Shannon McCarthy, Executive Minister, then introduced the omnibus motion (see page 2 of the workbook) with 2 additional motions being added regarding the Minutes of the Inaugural Meeting of Prairie to Pine Regional Council (June 13-16, 2019) and the holding a Celebration of Ministries service on a date and time to be determined by the Regional Council Executive to recognise Sam Ross and ordain Elenor Thompson.

The motion was CARRIED.

The Co-chairs then reviewed their report (pages 14 – 19 of the workbook). Shannon thanked the co-chairs and executive for their work, thanked delegates for participating in tonight's meeting and thanked each staff members for their work. Valerie Beckingham, Prairie to Pine treasurer, spoke to the financial report, admitting the oddity of dealing with the 2019 report towards the end of 2020. She acknowledged that 'we are taking good care of our resources'. Joan Jarvis and Ken Delisle moved that the verbal and written reports be received. The motion was CARRIED.

Ken Delisle, co-chair of the Diversity and Equity Committee, reported that the committee met this week to reflect on the suggestions that were made at the meeting last week. Because most people at that meeting agreed that they could live with the proposed vision statement as it was, they didn't make many changes. Because racialized members of the court asked that race be left in, they didn't remove it from the third paragraph. And because many supported the addition of the open table, it was added, reading: An open table recognises that Jesus Christ is our host and that we are all welcomed guests. All who seek to follow Jesus are invited to share it this significant and sacred meal. Jamie Miller and Ken Delisle moved the acceptance of draft affirming vision statement in support of the LGBTQI2S community. This motion was carried unanimously. Several delegates thanks the Diversity and Equity committee for their work.

Shannon McCarthy introduce the Remit to the court. It is a class 1 remit, meaning that only regional councils, not pastoral charges, will be voting on it. It must be passed by 2/3 of the regional councils to be implemented and it is a yes or no vote. The wording cannot be changed. The current and proposed wording was then reviewed. The motion to agree to the changes was CARRIED. Many folks offered

their thanks for the work done at the meeting and in the past (conference / presbyteries) to help make this vote successful.

The court then took a 5 minute break. Delegates were reminded to get their communion elements for the worship service.

Please note that the entire worship PowerPoint summarized below was prepared by Kristin Woodburke and made available on the website by Cherry Abad. Please click here for this and for all of the evening's PowerPoints.

Kristin Woodburke thanked the many people who prepared the worship and the music: Alex Milevic and Paul Hagerman of Knox United Church in Winnipeg, and Stephen Cocks of Oak Bank United Church and also Paul Hagerman who gave their worship material to access the recordings, and offered suggestions; Lynne Sanderson and Heather Lea of the Committee on Community of Faith Support. She then gave the call to worship. The service began by singing *You Are Holy* (MV45). The scripture reading was from Psalm 105 parts 1 and 4 (verses 1-11 and 37-45). Community members that have passed were remembered:

Jesmond Thompson, Rev. Larry Edwards, Charles Keep, Ruth Keep, Rev. Bill Hickerson, Jean Dickson, Rev. Sanadius Fiddler, Rev. Don Robertson, Ivy Campbell, Jim MacNair, Rev. Marietta Marshall, Margaret Downie, Ronald Kahlberg, and Bill Fulford. The gathered sang *I Am Walking a Path of Peace* (MV221). Retirees were then acknowledged: Brenda Gibson, Chuck Ross, Gordon Taylor, Ken Thomas, Cathie Waldie and Janet Walker. Delegates then sang a Japanese Blessing: *KiRiSuToNo – May the Peace of Christ Be With You*. Susie McPherson Derendy offered a Cree prayer and then introduced the new ministers to the Prairie to Pine Regional Council – Samuel (Sam) Ross, a Designated Lay Minister and Rev. Elenor Thompson, an ordinand. Congratulations were offered to the new ministry personnel and Susie was thanked for her beautiful tribute to these people.

The covenanting with the Communities of Faith began with *Bless Now O God, the Journey (VU633)*. Lynne Sanderson, and Christopher Davis from Deloraine-Melita-Tilston Pastoral Charge, Jennifer Pakula from Snow Lake Anglican—United Community of Faith, Ted Barnett from Winnipeg: Westminster United Church and Randy DeGagne from Fort Frances: Knox United Church led the Call to Covenant of Mutual Commitment, Accountability and Support with over 90 Communities of Faith, who had completed their covenants and had been received and accepted by the regional council executive. Picture of these churches were shown. The covenanting promises were offered by Lori Stewart and Kwang Beom Cho with the presentative delegates responding. Lynne Sanderson offered the Prayer of Affirmation. The covenanting closed with the singing of *One More Step Along the World I Go* (VU639)

Kwang Beom Cho gave a short reflection of the challenges of meeting God in the wilderness and what that wilderness looks like today. He and Executive Minister, Shannon McCarthy then led the court in a communion liturgy, closing with the hymn Santos, Santo, Santo (MV45).

Lori Stewart led the installation of the new Co-Chairs for the next year – Kwang Beom Cho and Diane Dwarka, concluding with You Are Holy (45MV). New Co-Chair Diane gave the blessing and Lori Stewart closed the meeting at 8:29pm.